top of page
Conference Meeting


The Society for Marketing Advances celebrates its Distinguished Fellows — luminaries who have profoundly influenced the marketing world. Through visionary insights and impactful research, they've enriched our discourse and paved the way for future trailblazers. Explore the legacies of those who've contributed to the advancement of our field.



The Society for Marketing Advances (SMA) in 1979 established the honorary designation of "SMA Fellow." The intent of this designation is to recognize a very limited number of scholars in light of their exemplary service to the Society and their significant scholarly contributions to the advancement of marketing thought over a sustained period of time. By later action of the Board of Governors (BOG), the designation title changed from “SMA Fellow” to “SMA Distinguished Fellow,” with all prior recipients automatically converted to the new designation. SMA Distinguished Fellow designees will be members in good standing of the SMA. Selection is based on the recommendation of an SMA Distinguished Fellows Nominating Committee and subsequent affirmation by the SMA BOG.


This year’s nominating committee consists of the following three SMA Distinguished Fellows:

  1. Joe Hair, University of South Alabama

  2. Christopher D. Hopkins, Auburn University

  3. Diane Edmondson, Middle Tennessee State University

​​Members of SMA who have provided exemplary long-term service to the Society and made significant scholarly contributions to the advancement of marketing thought over a sustained period of time are eligible to be nominated for consideration for the "SMA Distinguished Fellow" designation. There are two separate selection criteria, both of which must be met for an individual to be designated SMA Distinguished Fellow. It is incumbent on the Nominating Committee and the BOG to judge each potential candidate in terms of both of these criteria, taking into account that either criterion in-and-of-itself is insufficient for selection. The selection criteria are as follows:

Service: This shall consist of individuals who have taken on multiple high-level service responsibilities within the organization over a period exceeding 10 years. The list of possible endeavors would consist of, but is not limited to, the following:

  1. holding multiple offices on the Executive Committee

  2. serving on the Board of Governors

  3. serving as a session or track chair

  4. chairing the doctoral consortium or serving on the doctoral consortium faculty

  5. Serving as Journal Editor of one of SMA’s journals

Research: Evidence of significant contribution to the discipline could consist of, but is not limited to, the following:

  1. Holding the rank of Full Professor of Marketing (or related field) at an AACSB-accredited college/university, or with equivalent records that demonstrate excellence in the field

  2. A minimum of 30 refereed journal publications

  3. Of the total number of journal publications, a minimum of 20 articles must appear in highly regarded, reputable outlets as determined by the award selection committee

  4. A citation Index of no less than 1,000 citations

  5. Publication of highly regarded textbooks and/or book chapters

​​To be considered by the Nominating Committee for Distinguished Fellow designation for the current year’s cycle, nominations must be received no later than Sunday, September 1, 2024. Self-nominations are not accepted.

To be considered, the nomination must include, at a minimum:

  1. Name, position, affiliation, and contact information of nominee and nominator.

  2. A description of the nominee's service to the SMA.

  3. A description of the nominee's scholarly activities and contributions.

  4. A nominee's full current CV.

Important: Any selected SMA Distinguished Fellow must attend the upcoming 2024 SMA conference to be recognized by the Society for their accomplishment. Please send nominations by email by Sunday, 9/1/2024, to Joe Hair , Chris Hopkins, and Diane Edmondson.


The Society for Marketing Advances has recognized these distinguished individuals for their meritorious contributions to the Society and to the marketing discipline:

  • Brian Rutherford, 2023, Kennesaw State University

  • Jeff Tanner, 2022, Old Dominion University

  • Pia A Albinsson, 2021, Appalachian State University

  • Diane R. Edmondson, 2020, Middle Tennessee State University

  • Kevin J. Shanahan, 2020, Mississippi State University

  • Christopher D. Hopkins, 2019, Auburn University

  • Michael Solomon, 2017, Saint Joseph's University

  • Sharon E. Beatty, 2014, The University of Alabama

  • Alvin J. Williams, 2009, University of South Alabama

  • Denise T. Smart, 2007, Texas State University-San Marcos

  • Greg W. Marshall, 2005, Rollins College

  • Jean-Charles Chebat, 2003, HEC-Montreal

  • Barry J. Babin, 2002, University of Southern Mississippi

  • William C. Moncrief, 2002, Texas Christian University

  • David J. Ortinau, 2001, University of South Florida

  • Ronald D. Taylor, 2001, Mississippi State University

  • Michel Laroche, 2000, Concordia University

  • William J. Kehoe, 1998, University of Virginia

  • Robert A. Robicheaux, 1997, University of Alabama

  • O.C. Ferrell, 1996, University of Memphis

  • Donald P. Robin, 1995, University of Southern Mississippi

  • Linda E. Swayne, 1995, University of North Carolina - Charlotte

  • Arch Woodside, 1994, Tulane University

  • Charles S. "Stan" Madden, 1993, Baylor University

  • Ronald F. Bush, 1993, University of West Florida

  • William M. Pride, 1991, Texas A&M University

  • Joseph F. Hair, Jr., 1990, Louisiana State University

  • William D. Perreault, Jr., 1989, University of North Carolina

  • Wiiliam R. Darden, 1989, Louisiana State University

  • William O. Bearden, 1988, University of South Carolina

  • Fred D. Reynolds, 1987, Posthumously

  • Morris L. Mayer, 1986, University of Alabama

  • J. Barry Mason, 1984, University of Alabama

  • Edward W. Cundiff, 1980, University of Texas at Austin


Meet the Distinguished Society for Marketing Advances: our SMA Distinguished Fellows, Taylor & Francis/Routledge SMA Scholars, and dedicated Rusty Brooks Distinguished Service award winners, each impacting Marketing.





Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page