Welcome to SMA


Rusty Brooks Distinguished Service AwarD

Nominations for the 2022 Rusty Brooks Distinguished Service Award Being Accepted Now.

The Society for Marketing Advances (SMA) in 2018 established the Rusty Brooks Distinguished Service Award.  The intent of this award is to recognize a very limited number of SMA members who have shown uncommon service to the Society for Marketing Advances during their membership.  This award may be given to SMA members who have, based on recommendations from the previous award winners’ nominating committee, shown meritorious service to the Society as affirmed by the SMA BOG.  This year’s nominating committee consists of the one prior year Rusty Brooks Distinguished Service Award winner and two BoG members:

Alvin J. Williams, University of South Alabama (awilliams@southalabama.edu) - past winner
J. Charlene Davis, Trinity University (cdavis2@trinity.edu)
Yam B. Limbu, Montclair State University (limbuy@montclair.edu)

All members of the SMA who have provided exemplary long-term service to SMA are eligible to be nominated for consideration for the Rusty Brooks Distinguished Service Award.  The nominated member must have been a member of SMA for at least ten-years.  Examples of service include, but are not limited to, serving as an officer in SMA, conference chair or co-chair, member of the BOG, or other substantive service over time to SMA as recognized by the BOG.  Current SMA Officers are not eligible for consideration for the Rusty Brooks Distinguished Service Award during their term of office.

To be considered by the nominating committee for the 2022 award time period, nominations must be received no later than Sunday, August 7, 2022.  Self-nominations and nominations from non-SMA members are not accepted.  To be considered, the nominations must include, at a minimum:

Name, position, affiliation, and contact information of nominee and nominator.
A description of the nominee’s service to SMA (be specific).
A nominee’s full current CV.

Important:  Any selected Rusty Brooks Distinguished Service Award winner MUST attend the upcoming 2022 SMA meeting (November 2-5, 2022 in Charlotte, NC) to be recognized by the Society for his or her accomplishments.

Please send nominations by email by Sunday, August 7, 2022 to all committee members: Alvin Williams (awilliams@southalabama.edu), J. Charlene Davis (cdavis2@trinity.edu), and Yam B. Limbu (limbuy@montclair.edu).

We name this Award for John R. (Rusty) Brooks, Jr. of Houston Baptist University (HBU) because his career perfectly captures our definition of exemplary service. Rusty served as Executive Secretary (now called Executive Director) for at least 17 consecutive years (1984 – 2001), as President-Elect (2002 – 2003) – which includes chairing the annual SMA conference, and as President of SMA (2003 – 2004), and on the Board of Governors continuously at least since 2014; his current term extends to 2019. Collectively, this totals at least 25 years of hard-working service for SMA at an executive level. Additionally, Rusty arranged for a room at HBU that is dedicated to preserving SMA’s historical records. Further, several years ago, Rusty persuaded our Society to become a 501(c)(3) organization that is exempt from federal taxes, that enables those so willing to make tax deductible contributions to SMA. All of this has been done without remuneration from SMA; indeed, without any expectation of remuneration, recognition, or reward.

Given Rusty’s selfless – and truly stellar – contributions, the Board of Governors is pleased to announce that the Distinguished Service Award is to be named, now and in perpetuity, the Rusty Brooks SMA Distinguished Service Award. This Award grants to its recipients the same rights and privileges that SMA Distinguished Fellows receive.

Previous Winners

2022 - Greg W. Marshall, Rollins College
2021 - William (Bill) Kehoe, University of Virginia
2020 - Linda Swayne, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
2019 - Alvin J. Williams, University of South Alabama
2018 - John R. (Rusty) Brooks, Jr., Houston Baptist University

  Follow/Connect/Engage: Email | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | Website

© 2020 Society of Marketing Advances All rights reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software